de_DE German

Waterberg Plateau Park

The Waterberg Plateau Park is an island full of colors and biodiversity.

The Waterberg Plateau Park is a national park in central Namibia on the Waterberg Plateau, 68 kilometers southeast of Otjiwarongo. The plateau and the national park are named after the striking Table Mountain, which rises from the plateau, the Waterberg (German: Wasserberg). The Waterberg Plateau is a particularly striking place that rises high above the Kalahari plains in eastern Namibia. Waterberg Park and around 405 square kilometers of surrounding land were declared a nature reserve in 1972. Since the high plateau is largely inaccessible to several endangered species of Namibia, they were relocated in the early 1970s to protect them from predators and poaching extinction. The program was very successful and Waterberg now supplies other Namibian parks with rare animals. In 1989 the black rhino from Damaraland was reintroduced into the area. The African buffalo is also on the plateau of the mountain.

The Waterberg Plateau Park is ecologically diverse and rich and has over 200 different bird species with some rare species of small antelope on the lower hills of the mountain. Geologically speaking, the oldest layer of rock is over 850 million years old, and traces of dinosaurs remained there about 200 million years ago.

The plateau was declared a national monument in 1956.

Geologically speaking, the oldest layer of rock is over 850 million years old, and traces of dinosaurs remained there about 200 million years ago. The first human inhabitants were the San, who left rock engravings several thousand years old. Until the late 1960s, a small tribe of the San continued to live their traditional lifestyle on the plateau.

The location is also home to one of the most important turning points in the history of Namibia. In Waterberg, at the foot of the mountain, the Herero people lost their last and greatest fight against the German colonial forces at the beginning of the 20th century. The Herero had to withdraw from Waterberg and moved east to British Bechuanaland (now Botswana). Thousands were killed by the persecuting Germans and many died in the Kalahari desert due to lack of food and water. It is estimated that almost two thirds of the Herero population died during this period. The graves of German soldiers who lost their lives in Waterberg can still be seen near the Waterberg rest camp at the foot of the park

Waterberg Plateau Park

Der Waterberg Plateau Park ist eine Insel voller Farben und Artenvielfalt.

Der Waterberg Plateau Park ist ein Nationalpark in Zentralnamibia auf dem Waterberg Plateau, 68 Kilometer südöstlich von Otjiwarongo. Das Plateau und der Nationalpark sind nach dem markanten Tafelberg benannt, der sich aus dem Plateau erhebt, dem Waterberg (Deutsch: Wasserberg). Das Waterberg-Plateau ist ein besonders markanter Ort, der sich hoch über den Ebenen der Kalahari im Osten Namibias erhebt. Der Waterberg Park und rund 405 Quadratkilometer umliegendes Land wurden 1972 zum Naturschutzgebiet erklärt. Da das Hochplateau von mehreren gefährdeten Arten Namibias weitgehend unzugänglich ist, wurden sie Anfang der 1970er Jahre umgesiedelt, um sie vor Raubtieren und Wilderei zu schützen Aussterben. Das Programm war sehr erfolgreich und Waterberg beliefert nun andere namibische Parks mit seltenen Tieren. 1989 wurde das schwarze Nashorn aus dem Damaraland wieder in das Gebiet eingeführt. Auch der afrikanische Büffel befindet sich auf dem Plateau des Berges.

Der Waterberg Plateau Park ist ökologisch vielfältig und reichhaltig und hat über 200 verschiedene Vogelarten mit einigen seltenen Arten kleiner Antilopen auf den unteren Hügeln des Berges. Geologisch gesehen ist die älteste Gesteinsschicht über 850 Millionen Jahre alt, und Dinosaurierspuren sind dort vor etwa 200 Millionen Jahren geblieben.

Das Plateau wurde 1956 zum Nationaldenkmal erklärt.

Geologisch gesehen ist die älteste Gesteinsschicht über 850 Millionen Jahre alt, und Dinosaurierspuren sind dort vor etwa 200 Millionen Jahren geblieben. Die ersten menschlichen Bewohner waren die San, die mehrere tausend Jahre alte Felsgravuren hinterließen. Bis in die späten 1960er Jahre lebte ein kleiner Stamm der San auf dem Plateau nach wie vor seinen traditionellen Lebensstil.

Der Standort ist auch die Heimat eines der wichtigsten Wendepunkte in der Geschichte Namibias. In Waterberg, am Fuße des Berges, verlor das Volk der Herero zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts seinen letzten und größten Kampf gegen die deutschen Kolonialkräfte. Die Herero mussten sich vom Waterberg zurückziehen und zogen nach Osten nach Britisch-Bechuanaland (jetzt Botswana). Tausende wurden von den verfolgenden Deutschen getötet und viele kamen in der Kalahari-Wüste aufgrund von Nahrungs- und Wassermangel ums Leben. Schätzungen zufolge kamen in dieser Zeit fast zwei Drittel der Herero-Bevölkerung ums Leben. Die Gräber deutscher Soldaten, die in Waterberg ihr Leben verloren haben, sind noch heute in der Nähe des Waterberg-Rastlagers am Fuße des Parks zu sehen.